The South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE) prepares students for work, life and learning in a changing world.

SACE (Years 11 - 12)

The South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE) is awarded to students who successfully complete their senior secondary education. The Senior Secondary Assessment Board of South Australia (SSABSA) administers the SACE for all schools in South Australia qualifying students for admission to universities throughout Australia.

The SACE meets community expectations that school-leavers should have:

  • Developed skills and knowledge for successful participation in Australian society
  • Achieved a certain level of literacy
  • Studied a broad range of subjects
  • Been equipped to undertake further studies and employment

Students studying for the SACE undertake a course of subjects, usually over 2 years; Stage 1 (Year 11) and Stage 2 (Year 12).

Both the current and new SACE have compulsory requirements to be completed. These are detailed in the curriculum handbooks below. These handbooks will also help to clarify subject offerings in the following year and to guide subject choices.

SACE Handbooks 

Year 11 SACE Handbook

Year 12 SACE Handbook