Mercy Keys | Our Values Our six Mercy Keys are the values that guide who we are: compassion, loyalty, justice, integrity, responsibility, and mutual respect.

We demonstrate integrity when we have the strength to do what is right, are honest and trustworthy in our dealings with others and are true to our Christian values.

Mutual Respect
We demonstrate mutual respect when we acknowledge the dignity of others by treating them as we would have them treat us, by listening to them and considering their perspective.

We demonstrate responsibility when we are reliable and responsible for our actions and do the right thing by ourselves, others and the environment.

We demonstrate compassion when we are aware of and respond to the needs of others.

We demonstrate loyalty when we recognise and support personal, community and Gospel Values.

We demonstrate justice when we act with fairness and are willing to speak up for the rights and dignity of others.

Each year we highlight one, and encourage students to reflect on how they can fulfil that core value through their everyday experiences.

Our focus in 2023 is on Mutual Respect.  

We show Mutual Respect when we:

  • acknowledge the dignity of others.

  • treat everyone as we would have them treat us.

  • listen to them and consider their perspective.

Annual Mercy Award

Each year at our Mercy Day Mass, we acknowledge and celebrate a community member or family connected with Mercedes College, who through their actions and commitment has demonstrated special dedication to our Mercy Keys.

Our proud award recipients are:

1991 | Rossi von der Borch
1992 | Rosemary Shevlin
1993 | Belinda Winter
1994 | John Fanning
1995 | Leonie Barker
1996 | Sister Mary Marra RSM / Sister Monica McKee RSM
1997 | Anne Cox / John Cox
1998 | Sister Mavis McBride RSM (Sister Mary Phillip)
1999 | John Gibson
2000 | Penny Penhall OAM
2001 | Mark Cooper CP
2002 | John and Marie Doyle
2003 | Anne Morse
2004 | Tony Davis
2005 | Cora Nankivell
2006 | Peter Williams

2007 | Bill Gaynor
2008 | Prue McEvoy
2009 | Amanda Liston-Mwate
2010 | Sam Arnold
2011 | John Brazzatti
2012 | Bill Deegan
2013 | Mavis Waddington
2014 | Ward Family
2015 | Kate Conley
2016 | Tony O’Doherty
2017 | Michael Fitzgerald
2018 | Chris McCabe
2019 | Sister Maryanne Loughry
2020 | Henry Parham 
2021 | Dr Emma Tippett
2022 | Helen Connolly