

MERCEDES COLLEGE OLD SCHOLARS' ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE

Minutes of Annual General Meeting held Wednesday 16 March 2022 The Loft, Torrens Arms Hotel, Kingswood

1. MEETING OPENED: 7.00pm (meeting chaired by Vice President Ellen Watson)

2. WELCOME AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF THE KAURNA PEOPLE: Ellen Watson

3. PRESENT Ms Jess Whitford (President, via video link)

Miss Ellen Watson (Vice President)

Mr Justin Busse (Member) Mr Rob Cardone (Member) Ms Alisha Hart (Member) Miss Elsa Conlon (Member)

Ms Anne Morse (MOSA Executive Officer)

Mr Andrew Balkwill (Principal), James Khabbaz, Michael Khabbaz, Andrew Khabbaz, (Unley Mercedes Jets Football Club), Tim McEvoy, Paul O' Callaghan, (Mercedes Old Collegians' Cricket Club), Sarah Reynolds, (Mercedes Old Collegians' Soccer Club), Hayley Taeuber

(Mercedes Old Scholars' Netball Club), Harrison Groth

4. APOLOGIES Phil White, Ryan Hood, Adriana Weling, Brianna Watson, Emma

Brown (Director of Marketing and Development), Nick Pipinias, Maree Hatedakis, Pat Patrick, Peter Malinauskas, Laura Hayward,

Marten Roex (Mercedes Old Collegians' Soccer Club)

5. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF 2021 AGM – 15 March 2021

Moved: Ellen Watson 2nd: Alisha Hart

Carried

6. BUSINESS ARISING - Nil

7. REPORTS - copies of President's, Treasurer's and Executive Officer's Reports tabled and available to members.

President's Report – Jess Whitford

Moved: Jess Whitford 2nd: Ellen Watson

That the President's Report be accepted

Carried

Treasurer's Report – Anne Morse (presented on behalf of Treasurer Phil White)

Moved: Ellen Watson That the Treasurer's Report be accepted

2nd: Rob Cardone

Carried

Executive Officer's Report – Anne Morse

Moved: Ellen Watson That the Executive Officer's Report be accepted

2nd: Alisha Hart

Carried

Sporting Club Reports

Soccer Sarah Reynolds Football James Khabbaz Netball Hayley Taeuber Cricket Paul O'Callaghan

Ellen thanked the sporting club representatives for their reports and their work with the old scholar sporting clubs.

8. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The following members are continuing on the committee:

Ellen Watson

Ryan Hood

Rob Cardone

The following members have resigned from their positions:

Phil White (Treasurer)

Adriana Weling

Brianna Watson

The following committee members have renominated for a position on the committee:

Jess Whitford

Justin Busse

Alisha Hart

Elsa Conlon

Additional nominations were received from:

Nick Pipinias (Class of 1997) – in absentia Maree Hatedakis (Class of 1996) – in absentia Harrison Groth (Class of 2017)

Ellen thanked the above members for their nominations and moved that they be duly elected to the MOSA Committee

Moved: Ellen Watson 2nd: Rob Cardone

Carried

Newly elected member Harrison Groth introduced himself and Anne shared introductions from Nick Pipinias and Maree Hatedakis who were unable to attend the meeting.

Anne thanked retiring committee members Phil White, Adriana Weling and Brianna Watson. Gifts to be presented to Phil, Adriana and Brianna in recognition of their outstanding service to the MOSA Committee.

8. CHANGE TO CONSTITUTION

The following special resolution was proposed:

That Clause 6.3.8 of the MOSA Constitution be amended such that it now reads as follows:

"No office bearer shall hold the same office for more than four (4) consecutive years unless such person is the only nomination for that office."

Voting papers were distributed and collected and counted by Rob Cardone.

The resolution was passed unanimously.

9. PRINCIPAL ANDREW BALKWILL

Principal Andrew Balkwill addressed the meeting and shared information on the new Sports and Arts Precinct to be built on the College grounds with the build to start in Term 2 2022.

10. AOB - Nil

MEETING CLOSED: 7.40pm

Refreshments were served at the conclusion of the meeting.

Signed as a true and correct record.

Ellen Watson
Vice President

Anne Morse
Executive Officer.